Famas Awards for 2009 awarded in 2010

MANILA, Philippines - Political film “Dukot” emerged as the big winner at the 58th Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences (FAMAS) Awards, taking home six awards out of its 14 nominations including Best Picture.
“Maraming, maraming salamat sa FAMAS, maraming, maraming salamat sa lahat ng mga naging katrabaho ko sa tatlong pelikulang nominado para sa Best Picture. Sa kanila ko iniaalay ang lahat ng ito,” “Dukot” director Joel Lamangan told Bulletin Entertainment and other members of the press right after the awards night held at the GSIS Theater on Dec. 13.
Set in 2006, “Dukot” is mainly about the extra-judicial killings of left-wing activists, and other human rights violations.
Lamangan's other film, “Sagrada Familia,” was also nominated for  Best Picture.
The director, whose Best Picture award that night gave him his first FAMAS ever, said that the award completes his "collection" of Philippine-award giving bodies' trophies.
The award-winning director was grateful that “Dukot” star Iza Calzado showed up to support the film even though she ended up not getting the award for Best Actress.
“Napakalaking tuwa ko dahil narito rin si Iza para suportahan yung pelikulang 'Dukot' dahil siya ang leading lady doon, at nakita mo naman how sport she is. She's a very intelligent woman,” said he.
“Dukot” managed to snag all the major awards that evening save for Best Actress, which went to Lovi Poe for “Sagrada Familia.”
“I'm very, very happy kasi it's my second Best Actress Award, and second this year also. I feel really, really blessed. I'm very happy, and iba yung feeling. Surreal. Good emotion.
“Inaalay ko 'to sa aking dad because this is the day [Dec. 14] that he went back to our creator,” Lovi said.
The actress won her first Best Actress Award this year at the 6th Cinemalaya last July for the movie “Mayohan.”
Lovi refuted the rumor that she already knew beforehand that she’ll be awarded the Best Actress title for this year.
“No, of course not. I had no idea because I know I'm up against really, really good actresses. Everytime naman I'm in any awards night, I don't expect anything,” Lovi stated.
Aside from Best Picture, “Dukot” also won for Best Art Direction, Best Editing, Best Cinematography, Best Director and Best Actor.
“Parang hindi ako makapaniwala na pangalawang pagkakataon dito sa FAMAS na, ito nakatanggap ako ng Best Actor award. Napakasaya ko.
“[Inaalay ko po itong award na 'to] unang-una sa Panginoon, sa pamilya ko, sa asawa ko saka sa mga anak ko,” Allen Dizon said. He won his first FAMAS Best Actor award in 2009 for the movie “Paupahan.”
Meanwhile, the Mac Alejandre-helmed movie, “Ang Panday” got five awards for Best Theme Song, Best Sound, Best Story, Best Screenplay and Best Child Actor.
“Sagrada Familia,” aside from Best Actress, won Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress, while “I Love You Goodbye” and “Last Viewing” won Best Musical Score and Best Child Actress, respectively.
Here is the full list of winners at the 58th FAMAS Awards:
Best Theme Song – “Panday” by Ely Buendia, “Ang Panday”
Best Musical Score – Von de Guzman, “I Love You Goodbye”
Best Art Direction – Edgar Martin Littaua, “Dukot”
Best Sound – Ditoy Aguila, “Ang Panday”
Best Editing – Bebs Gohetia, “Dukot”
Best Cinematography – Monino Duque, “Dukot”
Best Story – Carlo J. Caparas, “Ang Panday”
Best Screenplay – Carlo J. Caparas and RJ Cuevas, “Ang Panday”
Best Child Actress – Maru Panganiban, “Last Viewing”
Best Supporting Actor – Emilio Garcia, “Sagrada Familia”
Best Child Actor – Buboy Villar, “Ang Panday”
Best Supporting Actress – Gloria Diaz, “Sagrada Familia”
Best Director – Joel Lamangan, “Dukot”
Best Picture – “Dukot” by Joel Lamangan
Best Actor – Allen Dizon, “Dukot”
Best Actress – Lovi Poe, “Sagrada Familia”

Special Awards
German Moreno Youth Achievement Award – Enchong Dee, Erich Gonzales, Matteo Guidicelli, Andi Eigenmann, Joshua Dionisio, Barbie Forteza, Jake Vargas, Bea Binene
Lifetime Achievement Award – Rustica Carpio
Golden Artist Award – Sharon Cuneta
Flavio Macaso Award – Ninoy Sofranos
Lou Salvador Sr. Memorial Award – Lou Veloso
Exemplary Achievement Award – Dolphy
Arturo M. Padua Memorial Award – German Moreno
Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award – Ronnie Rickets
Presidential Award – Herbert Bautista
Prestige Award of Distinction – Prof. Domingo G. Landicho, Ph. D.
Special Citation Award as an Artist for Film – Celso Ad. Castillo
Dr. Jose Perez Jr. Memorial Award – Dennis Aguilar
Hall of Fame – Albert Michael Idioma and Jessie Lucas

No comments: